Be Bold

#BeBoldForChange

I like this slogan. It makes you want to take action, right?

This is going to be a short post. I just want to join my voice to the millions of women who are making a statement today. I am worthy. I am valuable. I can do it. I deserve to be treated with respect (aka as a f****** human being). I have control over my actions, mind, and body.

So I want to Be Bold for Change. I want to help empower other women who are still being oppressed. I want to tell you:Β you are stronger than you believe. That you can do whatever you put your heart to it. That no one can judge you by your gender, your sexual orientation or your ethnicity.Β 

It might sometimes be very difficult to see the subtle oppression (not so subtle oppression is obviously very easy to spot) that women are subject to because gender. Because it is things like manspreading (occupying more space, and the space of others, just because), like telling your female colleague she ‘looks tired’ when she is not wearing makeup, like giving men only a few weeks of paid parental leave thus putting the care of children in the mother from the beginning (read my other post: men and feminism), like being afraid of walking alone in the dark downtown. Like cat-calling (do I HATE catcalling, it makes you feel like a piece of meat, like an object that has no will or worth of their own.

So I want to do something. I will call out those being sexist. I will not be shut down by men just because I am a woman. I will not stay home to cook with mum during the holidays while her brothers go to the pub. And I will make sure she doesn’t either. I will love myself and my body regardless. Of anything. And I will try to teach other women to take their life back and to speak out for themselves, and men to call out other men in their sexism.

Badass Bold Woman over here.

Leave a Reply

